July 24, 2024

  • Bitcoin(BTC)$24,383.00-1.66%
  • Ethereum(ETH)$1,657.83-2.53%
  • Tether(USDT)$1.000.18%
  • BNB(BNB)$310.23-1.26%
  • USD Coin(USDC)$1.000.10%
  • XRP(XRP)$0.39-0.81%
  • Binance USD(BUSD)$1.000.05%
  • Cardano(ADA)$0.39-2.73%
  • Dogecoin(DOGE)$0.09-2.67%
  • Polygon(MATIC)$1.38-6.66%

NELFUND Opens Student Loan Applications for 36 State Institutions

0 7

The Nigerian Education Loan Fund (NELFUND) has finally opened its doors to students seeking financial aid! In a recent announcement made on their official X account (formerly Twitter), NELFUND declared the commencement of student loan applications for students enrolled in 36 state-owned tertiary institutions across Nigeria.

This exciting development, effective July 7, 2024, brings much-needed relief to students struggling with the rising costs of education.

NELFUND Emphasizes Verification System

NELFUND highlighted that the launch of applications is only possible for these 36 institutions because they have successfully submitted their student data to the NELFUND Student Verification System (SVS). This system ensures transparency and accuracy in the application process, allowing NELFUND to verify student enrollment and eligibility.


While celebrating the launch for the 36 approved institutions, NELFUND urged remaining state-owned institutions to promptly submit their student data to the NELFUND Student Verification System (SVS). This system allows NELFUND to verify student enrollment and ensure the smooth application process.

“We urge all other state-owned tertiary institutions to submit their complete student data to the NELFUND Student Verification System timely to enable their students to benefit from the scheme,” NELFUND stated in their announcement.

Who Can Apply?

As of July 8, 2024, students enrolled in the following 36 state-owned universities can apply for NELFUND student loans:

Northeast Zone

Adamawa State University, Mubi

Ramat Polytechnic, Maiduguri

Borno State University

Mohammed Lawan College of Agriculture, Borno State

North-Central Zone

Gombe State University

Nuhu Bamalli Polytechnic, Zaria

Yusuf Maitama Sule University, Kano

Umaru Musa Yar’adua University, Katsina

Katsina State Institute of Technology and Management

Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero

Nasarawa State University, Keffi

Northwest Zone

Kingsly Ozumba Mbadiwe University, Imo State

Imo State University of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences, Umuagwo

Confluence University of Science and Technology, Kogi State

Southwest Zone

Lagos State University of Education

Lagos State University

Tai Solarin University of Education, Ogun State

South-South Zone

University of Medical Sciences, Ondo

Osun State University

University of Ilesa, Osun State

South-East Zone

Edo State University, Uzairue

Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti

How to Apply for a NELFUND Loan

Students seeking more information on eligibility requirements, loan amounts, and application procedures are encouraged to visit the official NELFUND website https://nelf.gov.ng/.

If You Ask Me

With the successful launch for the initial 36 institutions, all eyes are now on the remaining state-owned universities. Timely submission of student data to the NELFUND SVS is crucial for these institutions to participate in the program and ensure their students have access to these crucial financial resources.

NELFUND’s student loan program offers a beacon of hope for countless Nigerian students. As the program expands to encompass more institutions, the dream of higher education becomes a reality for a wider segment of the population.

Share this

Leave a Comment

glo advert
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com