July 24, 2024

  • Bitcoin(BTC)$24,383.00-1.66%
  • Ethereum(ETH)$1,657.83-2.53%
  • Tether(USDT)$1.000.18%
  • BNB(BNB)$310.23-1.26%
  • USD Coin(USDC)$1.000.10%
  • XRP(XRP)$0.39-0.81%
  • Binance USD(BUSD)$1.000.05%
  • Cardano(ADA)$0.39-2.73%
  • Dogecoin(DOGE)$0.09-2.67%
  • Polygon(MATIC)$1.38-6.66%

Champions League €20m, Manchester City or Inter Milan?

0 91

CEM REPORT, SPORTS | 32 teams from across various top leagues in Europe qualified for the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League, but only one team will be crowned champion.

Manchester City and Inter Milan are the only teams left in the competition conquering all others to make it to the final stage in Atatürk Olympic Stadium in Istanbul, Turkey today.

Manchester City and Inter will meet in the final for the first time. City booked their final spot at the expense of holders Real Madrid, while the Nerazzurri progressed as a result of a 3-0 aggregate defeat of city rivals AC Milan in the semi-finals.


Other than the trophy and bragging rights, both teams will also be playing to claim the winner’s prize of €20m.

The total gross revenue for this year’s UEFA competitions stands at an estimated €3.5bn of which €2.732bn of total revenue estimate will be available for distribution, €2.032bn, €465m and €235m for clubs participating in the UEFA Champions League (UCL), UEFA Europa League (UEL) and the UEFA Super Cup. (UECL) respectively.

This is according to a circular dated 4th July 2022, addressed to its member associations and titled “Distribution to clubs from the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League and the 2022 UEFA Super Cup.”

For this season, the total UCL prize money pot is divided into four different pillars –

Starting fees (€500.5m)

Performance-related fixed amounts (€600.6m)

Coefficient-based amounts (€600.6m)

Variable amounts (market pool) (€300.3m)

A portion of €15.64m from the starting fees allotment is available to each of the 32 teams that qualified for the group stage. Depending on how well a team does during the group stage and knockout phase, performance-related fixed sums are awarded.

UEFA rates the performance of its member teams during the previous ten years. ‘Coefficient shares’ are created with a value of €1.137 million apiece, totalling €600.6 million. One share (€1.137 million) will be awarded to the team that finished last.

Every rank will get an additional share, making the highest-ranked club eligible for 32 shares (or €36.38m).

The market pool payout is based on how much each federation that participates in the UEFA Champions League earns in broadcast fees.

A breakdown of the distribution is as follows:

Reaching group stage – €15.64m

Group stage win – €2.8m

Group stage draw – €930k

Round of 16 – €9.6m

Quarterfinals – €10.6m

Semi-finals – €12.5m

Runners up – €15.5m

Winners – €20m

History and the Final

Inter Milan has a history of winning the Champions League, however, they haven’t won it or appeared in the final since they won in 2010.

Manchester City on the other hand will be hoping to make history by winning their first Champions League trophy.

If history is anything to go by both teams stand an equal chance of winning the trophy.

According to the league’s record team has appeared in the final for the second time and lost it.

Manchester City first appeared in the Champions League final against Chelsea in the 2020/2021 season and lost.

Recall that Chelsea won their first Champions League trophy in the 2011/2012 season which was the team’s second appearance at the final.

Champions League history has it that no team appears at the final for the second time and losses the trophy.

In another history, Napoli won the Series A last, 33 years ago and the Champions League of that year was won by an Italian team (AC Milan).

Napoli has won the league again this season and an Italian team is in the final.

Another factor that may come to play is the favourite factor. Manchester City’s first final appearance against Chelsea, they entered as a favourite but lost and this time they also enter as favourite.

Inter Milan on the other hand was not favourite in 2010 when they defeated Bayern Munich to win the title.

While history has a way of repeating itself the question is who will history favour tonight?

Share this

Leave a Comment

glo advert
WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com